The Press Box Sports

2017 Maxwell Award Watch List: Full List and Projections

Maxwell Award Watch List

The Maxwell Football Club announced their 2017 Maxwell Award watch list earlier this week. The award annually goes to the college football player of the year annually. The Maxwell Football Club was founded in 1935 and the first Maxwell Award was awarded in 1937 to Yale running back Clint Frank. The award is voted on by a panel of sportscasters, sportswriters, NCAA head football coaches and members of the Maxwell Football Club to determine who is America’s best all-around college football player. Below are the 85 players on the Maxwell Award Watch List.


Player School Position Class
Josh Adams Notre Dame RB Junior
Austin Allen Arkansas QB Senior
Josh Allen Wyoming QB Junior
Kalen Ballage Arizona State RB Senior
Saquon Barkley Penn State RB Junior
J.T. Barrett Ohio State QB Senior
Jake Bentley South Carolina QB Soph
D’Angelo Brewer Tulsa RB Senior
Orlando Brown Oklahoma OT Junior
Jake Browning Washington QB Junior
Shane Buechele Texas QB Soph
Nick Chubb Georgia RB Senior
Justin Crawford West Virginia RB Senior
Damarea Crockett Missouri RB Soph
Sam Darnold USC QB Soph
Eric Dungey Syracuse QB Junior
Jacob Eason Georgia QB Soph
Jesse Ertz Kansas State QB Senior
Luke Falk Washington State QB Senior
Riley Ferguson Memphis QB Senior
Nick Fitzgerald Mississippi State QB Junior
Minkah Fitzpatrick Alabama DB Junior
Quinton Flowers South Florida QB Senior
Deondre Francois Florida State QB Soph
Royce Freeman Oregon RB Senior
Myles Gaskin Washington RB Senior
James Gilbert Ball State RB Junior
Janarion Grant Rutgers WR Senior
Will Grier West Virginia QB Junior
Derrius Guice LSU RB Junior
Quadree Henderson Pitt AP Junior
Kyle Hicks TCU RB Senior
Jalen Hurts Alabama QB Soph
Lamar Jackson Louisville QB Junior
Justin Jackson Northwestern RB Senior
Derwin James Florida State S Soph
Daniel Jones Duke QB Soph
Arden Key LSU DE Junior
Christian Kirk Texas A&M WR Junior
Harold Landry Boston College DE Senior
Ray Lawry Old Dominion RB Senior
Phillip Lindsay Colorado RB Senior
Bryce Love Stanford RB Junior
Tanner Mangum BYU QB Junior
Baker Mayfield Oklahoma QB Senior
Mike McGlinchey Notre Dame OT Senior
Trace McSorley Penn State QB Junior
Dedrick Mills Georgia Tech RB Soph
Jalin Moore Appalachian State RB Junior
Ryan Nall Oregon State RB Junior
Cody O’Connell Washington State OT Senior
Ed Oliver Houston DT Soph
Jacob Park Iowa State QB Junior
Shea Patterson Ole Miss QB Soph
Rashaad Penny San Diego State RB Senior
Kamryn Pettway Auburn RB Junior
Calvin Ridley Alabama WR Junior
Larry Rose III New Mexico State RB Senior
Josh Rosen UCLA QB Junior
Mason Rudolph Oklahoma State QB Senior
Brett Rypien Boise State QB Junior
Deebo Samuel South Carolina WR Junior
Jaylen Samuels North Carolina State AP Senior
Bo Scarbrough Alabama RB Junior
L.J. Scott Michigan State RB Junior
Brandon Silvers Troy QB Senior
Rodney Smith Minnesota RB Junior
Ito Smith Southern Miss RB Senior
Benny Snell Kentucky RB Soph
Wilton Speight Michigan QB Junior
Jarrett Stidham Auburn QB Soph
Brent Stockstill Middle Tennessee QB Junior
Clayton Thorson Northwestern QB Junior
Akrum Wadley Iowa RB Senior
Mark Walton Miami RB Junior
Chris Warren III Texas RB Junior
James Washington Oklahoma State WR Senior
Ralph Webb Vanderbilt RB Senior
Mike Weber Ohio State RB Soph
Mike White Western Kentucky QB Senior
Christian Wilkins Clemson DE Junior
Trayveon Williams Texas A&M RB Soph
Logan Woodside Toledo QB Senior
Malik Zaire Florida QB Senior


Lamar Jackson won the 2016 Maxwell Award and is looking to take home the award for a second straight season. Jackson would join Johnny Lattner (1952-53) and Tim Tebow (2007-08) as the only players to win the Maxwell Award twice. Last season, Jackson was one of the most electrifying players in college football throwing for 3,543 yards, rushing for another 1,571 yards, and scoring 40 total touchdowns.

Jackson faces tough competition again for this year’s Maxwell Award. The 2017 college football season is being portrayed as the “Year of the Quarterback” as there are so many great college QB’s in this year’s lineup. Jalen Hurts, Baker Mayfield, and Jake Browning also lead the way for 2017’s top college quarterbacks. Penn State running back Saquon Barkley is another favorite to win the Maxwell Award. Barkley finished his 2016 campaign rushing for 1,496 yards and 18 touchdowns.

Maxwell Award Projected Shortlist

  1. Saquon Barkley – Penn State
  2. Jake Browning – Washington
  3. Sam Darnold – USC
  4. Derrius Guice – LSU
  5. Jalen Hurts – Alabama
  6. Lamar Jackson – Louisville
  7. Baker Mayfield – Oklahoma
  8. Calvin Ridley – Alabama
  9. Wilton Speight – Michigan
  10. James Washington- Oklahoma State

Share your thoughts on who you think will be college football’s best all-around player this coming season and win the 2017 Maxwell Award.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.

six − one =